Search Updates

Updates on the search for the next SAIS president will be posted on this page ( Direct link to position description here.

Sept 28, 2023

The SAIS Board of Trustees is pleased to announce that Dr. Brett Jacobsen has been selected to serve as the next SAIS president as of July 1, 2024.

During his 28-year career, Brett has demonstrated the vision, strategy, growth, and advancement required for this new era of leadership. Serving in almost every facet of a school environment, including as CEO/head of school for the past 18 years, he has a deep understanding of the current demands of the SAIS independent school marketplace and the disposition to provide the professional support to school leaders and their communities to live out their respective missions more fully.

Brett’s thoughtful approach to education, innovation, and strategy will help set the conditions for educators to learn, grow, and flourish. Join us on this purpose-driven adventure filled with visionary leadership and exciting opportunities ahead.

Welcome, Brett!

July 31, 2023

Resumes and letters of interest were submitted by 34 candidates as of the July 14 deadline. The search committee reviewed the materials and met last week to discuss the candidates, ultimately selecting nine semifinalists to move forward in the process. Each semifinalist will have a Zoom interview with members of the search committee, complete a Predictive Index assessment, and participate in a detailed conversation with the search consultant, Jack Hall, partner with CarterBaldwin Executive Search. The search committee will convene again later this month to select three to five finalists who they will interview in person in early September. The new president of SAIS will be announced in late September.

May 8, 2023

March 30, 2023

Feb 2, 2023

Search Committee
The search committee includes:

  • Chair: Jackie Westerfield, Grandview Preparatory School (FL)
  • DuBose Egleston, Porter-Gaud School (SC)
  • Autumn Graves, St. Anne’s-Belfield School (VA)
  • Adam Greene, Episcopal School of Jacksonville (FL)
  • Stuart Gulley, Woodward Academy (GA)
  • Palmer Kennedy, Jackson Academy (MS)
  • Mark Reed, John M. Belk Endowment (NC)
  • Kelley Waldron, St. Andrew’s School (GA)
  • Staff: Lori Spear, SAIS (GA)